CT Green REIT

BIOS Building Technologies LLC.  Is Creating a Real Estate Investment Trust to Finance Green Living Centers and Zero Energy Tiny House Developments in the State of Connecticut & Around the World.

 

The Bios Center Promotes Green, HealthyHolistic, Organic, Sustainable & Energy Efficient Living. We Empower People To Change With Real EstateConstruction, Finance & Educational Services.  You can learn more at http://BiosCenters.com

Our Goal $500,000,000

Office Suites: The BIOS Centers provide a nurturing office suite concept. Professionals are able to do what they do best and let experts handle the rest. Tenants of the center can become owners in the building buy purchasing stock in The BIOS Center REIT.  Doctors treat patients, accountants handle billing through a centralized system; real estate professionals manage the properties.  Construction and real estate development is handled in house. Doctors, artists, builders, realtors and financial professionals work together to build facilities that help people, save the planet and boost the economy.

Zero Energy Tiny House Developments: A second REIT is being established to develop ZERO ENERGY TINY HOUSE villages that provide truly affordable housing for people of all ages, more on this later.

The following offers a general summary of the basic tax law requirements applicable to REITs. To qualify as a REIT, we must meet a number of organizational, operational, distribution and compliance requirements.

 

Organizational

The BIOS Center REIT is being formed in the State of as a corporation. We are now recruiting and interviewing members for our board of directors.  Shares will be transferable. Beginning with its second taxable year, The BIOS Center REIT must meet two ownership tests: it must have at least 100 shareholders (the “100 Shareholder Test”) and five or fewer individuals cannot own more than 50 percent of the value of the REIT’s stock during the last half of its taxable year (the “5/50 Test”).

To ensure compliance with the above tests, The BIOS Center REIT will have a percentage ownership limitation that will not allow a single shareholder to own more than 9 percent of the REIT’s stock. Due to the need to have 100 shareholders and the complexity of both of these tests, The BIOS Center is also forming a team with legal, tax and securities experience before forming the REIT.

This is a simple outline that will be added to daily we hope to peak the interests of others that have similar interests.  If that is you please call Steve Schappert at 203-994-3950 or email StephenSchappert@gmail.com

Below is a list of contacts that we will be following up with next week we hope to add some Connecticut firms as well

 

Examples of Law Firms with REIT expertise:

Alston & Bird LLP
Rosemarie Thurston
rosemarie.thurston@alston.com

Goodwin Procter LLP
Gilbert G. Menna
gmenna@goodwinprocter.com

Greenberg Traurig, LLP
Judith D. Fryer
fryerj@gtlaw.com

Hogan Lovells
David W. Bonser
david.bonser@hoganlovells.com

King & Spalding LLP
Anthony W. Rothermel
trothermel@kslaw.com

Locke Lord LLP
Bryan L. Goolsby
bgoolsby@lockelord.com

Morrison and Foerster LLP
David P. Slotkin
dslotkin@mofo.com

TOP

Examples of Accounting Firms with REIT expertise:

Deloitte LLP
Robert T. O’Brien
robrien@deloitte.com

Ernst & Young LLP
Mark Kaspar
mark.kaspar@ey.com

Grant Thornton LLP
Gregory E. Ross
greg.ross@us.gt.com

KPMG LLP
Andrew Corsini
acorsini@kpmg.com

PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Thomas Wilkin
tom.wilkin@us.pwc.com

TOP

Examples of Investment Banking Firms with REIT expertise

Bank of America Merrill Lynch
Jeffrey D. Horowitz
jeff.horowitz@baml.com

Barclays
Scott Schaevitz
scott.schaevitz@barclays.com

BMO Capital Markets
Ashi Mathur
ashi.mathur@bmo.com

Citi
Scott Eisen
scott.eisen@citi.com

Credit Suisse
Andrew Richard
andy.richard@credit-suisse.com

Eastdil Secured
David Lazarus
dlazarus@eastdilesecured.com

Goldman Sachs & Co.
Michael Graziano
mike.graziano@gs.com

Greenhill & Company, LLC
Richard J. Lieb
rlieb@greenhill.com

J.P. Morgan
Thomas A. Grier
thomas.grier@jpmorgan.com

KeyBank
James McLaughlin
James_b_mclaughlin@keybank.com

Morgan Stanley
Guy Metcalfe
guy.metcalfe@morganstanley.com

Raymond James
Vivek Seth
vick.seth@raymondjames.com

RBC Capital Markets
John Perkins
john.perkins@rbccm.com

Stifel
Chad Gorsuch
cmgorsuch@stifel.com

UBS Securities LLC
Alan Felder
alan.felder@ubs.com

 

Chatham Financial

Mike Bontrager
mbontrager@chathamfinancial.com

Duff & Phelps
Ross Prindle
ross.prindle@duffandphelps.com

Green Street Advisors
Mike Kirby
mkirby@greenstreetadvisors.com

Jones Lang LaSalle
Thomas E. Griffin
tom.griffin@am.jll.com

RealFoundations
David Stanford
david.stanford@realfoundations.net

Willis
Joseph T. Downey
Joe.downey@willis.com

 

DISCLAIMER

Please note that the discussion set forth above is for informational purposes only and is not intended to constitute legal or tax advice. Since the formation and operation of a REIT involves many complex legal, securities, tax and accounting rules, we strongly advise you to seek professional advice from competent attorneys, accountants and other advisors prior to beginning the process of forming a REIT. Since we are not providing legal advice through this Web site, you should not rely upon any information contained herein for any purpose without seeking legal and/or tax and accounting advice from a duly licensed attorney or tax practitioner.